He’s my whole life…

Your father and I have been married for over 40 years.
For two-thirds of my life, I have been the wife of Richard Gilmore.
I run his household. I plan his meals. I buy his clothes, I entertain his business associates.
When he loses his reading glasses, I find them. When he wants a nightcap. I make it for him.
If he can’t remember the name of a colleague’s wife, I whisper it in his ear.
That’s what I do. I take care of him. That’s my job. That’s who I am.
If I could be performing his surgery right now, I would be, but I can’t.
It’s out of my hands. It’s out of my hands and there’s nothing I can do but wait.
I could lose him, Lorelai.
He’s my whole life and there’s nothing I can do!

Emily Gilmore

Kommentar verfassen

